About Friends of the Earth Melbourne

Friends of the Earth Melbourne believes that social and environmental issues cannot be separated from each other. As a result, FoE is a social and environmental justice organisation. It seeks to work towards a sustainable and equitable future and seeks to work in a way that empowers individuals and communities. This means that FoE operates on a collective basis using consensus for decision-making.

FoE at a Rally

FoE campaigns from the local to global level: it is part of the FoE Australia network, which currently includes 12 groups around the country. FoE Australia is, in turn, the national member of FoE International, which is now active in 77 countries.

Collectively, the FoE network is the largest environmental federation in the world. It has around 5,000 local branches, including those in Australia. Member groups at the national level are autonomous, leading to a great diversity within the network. FoE International is active on many of the key global environmental and social issues.


FoEM management

FoEM is an incorporated body in the state of Victoria. It is managed on a day-to-day basis by the strategy collective, which meets monthly and is composed of representatives of the campaigns and businesses. A Committee of Management (CoM) is appointed at the AGM and has oversight for long term planning, accountability and finances. All members of FoEM are welcome to stand for the CoM.

The current CoM is:

Ben Courtice
William Shafer
David Robertson
Rodney Vlais
Cam Walker
Samantha Castro
Beth Cameron

 

Funding and fund-raising

Each campaign collective sets its own goals and is ultimately responsible for fund-raising, and reports to strategy collective.The campaign planning is co-ordinated through bi annual whole of organisation planning meetings.

Friends of the Earth Melbourne is a Charitable Institution and is registered as having Deductible Gift Recipient status, meaning it can provide tax deductible receipts for donations over $2.

Check our annual reports (below) for financial reports and sources of income.

You can donate to support our work here.

In recent years we have received financial support from the following businesses.

 

Via the environment grants program.

 

 

 

 

Partnership

 

FoE staff and volunteers


campaigns office (Sam, Sam, Melissa and Cam).

The office is open 10am til 6pm, monday to friday.

Ph (03) 9419 8700  (outside Melbourne): 1300 852 081

Email: foe@foe.org.au

Membership development: Sam Cossar-Gilbert: sam.cossargilbert@foe.org.au (extension 23)

Finances, including our regular giving program: Miko Thomas: miko.thomas@foe.org.au  (extension 24)

Operations co-ordinator: Samantha Castro <samantha.castro@foe.org.au> (ext 02)

Campaigns co-ordinator/ media: Cam Walker - cam.walker@foe.org.au (ext 20), 0419 338 047

Campaigns

Barmah Millewa campaign/ Red Gum:

co-ordinator:  Sam Cossar Gilbert sam.cossargilbert@foe.org.au

campaigner: Will Mooney: will.mooney@foe.org.au


climate campaign:

CSG: Cam Walker - cam.walker@foe.org.au

Quit Coal campaign: info@quitcoal.org.au

coal/ CSG Community campaigners: ursula.alquier@foe.org.au and chloe.aldenhoven@foe.org.au

Renewable energy campaigner: Leigh Ewbank - leigh.ewbank@foe.org.au

0406
316 176

Latin American campaign issues: Marisol Salinas - marisol.salinas@foe.org.au

Anti Nuclear and Clean Energy Collective co-ordinators -
ace@foe.org.au -  Tully McIntyre

plantations/ pesticides/ water: Anthony Amis - anthonyamis@hotmail.com

real food campaign: Martin Pritchard - realfood@melbourne.foe.org.au

water campaign: Cam Walker

Bookshop
Please note: the bookshop is no longer operating

Food co-operative
Co-ordinator: Beth Cameron - food@foe.org.au 03 9419 8700 (ext 05)

National staff based in Melbourne:

* national anti nuclear campaigner:
Jim Green - jim.green@foe.org.au

Our partners


We are the local member of Friends of the Earth Australia, which has membership in a range of alliances and organisations. You can find details on these here.

Locally we work closely with the following people and organisations:

On campaigns and community projects, our partners include-

*  Australian Conservation Foundation
* Australian Student Environment Network (ASEN)
* City of Yarra, via the community grants program - especially for our street festival
* Coalition for People's Transport
* Environment Victoria
* Forest Action Trust
* Lock the Gate Victoria and the Gippsland Alliance
* Melbourne Water Catchment Network
* Otway Ranges Environment Network
* photographer Peter McConchie
* photographer Rodney Dekker. http://www.rodneydekker.com/
* The Sustainable Living Foundation. We collaborate with SLF on a range of events, including the annual sustainability convergence, held each February
* The Wilderness Society
* Victorian National Parks Association
* Victorian Trades Hall Council and many individual unions. We are active in the VTHC environment and green jobs working group
* Yarra Environment Network
* Yorta Yorta nation

In 2013, we helped establish the Vic Wind Alliance.

We are a founding member of the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance.

We are a signatory to a Memorandum of Understanding with The Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations (MLDRIN).

Working with Carbon Equity, we established the Climate Action Centre in Carlton.

In 2010, FoE helped launch the Transition Decade (T10). T10is a non-partisan shared campaign which is coordinated by an alliance of groups. Groups guiding the campaign include: Friends of the Earth Australia, Beyond Zero Emissions, the Climate Emergency Network and the Sustainable Living Foundation. http://www.t10.net.au/

[above: in the Barmah forest with Wayne Atkinson]

annual reports

With the transfer over from our old website, we have not yet moved the previous annual reports. If you need one in the meantime, please email cam.walker@foe.org.au and we will send one.

annual report for 2012/13. Available .

annual report for 2011/12. Available here.

annual report for 2010/2011. Available here.

annual report for 2009/2010. Available here.

A summary of our work 2011. A report to our members & supporters, available here.

A summary of our work, 2010. A report to our members & supporters, available here.

Our activities, Jan - June 2009, available here.

 

AttachmentSize
FoEM_AR_2013_softcopy-2.pdf743.62 KB