About Friends of the Earth Melbourne

Friends of the Earth Melbourne believes that social and environmental issues cannot be separated from each other. As a result, FoE is a social and environmental justice organisation. It seeks to work towards a sustainable and equitable future and seeks to work in a way that empowers individuals and communities. This means that FoE operates on a collective basis using consensus for decision-making.

FoE campaigns from the local to global level: it is part of the FoE Australia network, which currently includes 12 groups around the country. FoE Australia is, in turn, the national member of FoE International, which is now active in more than 70 countries.


Collectively, the FoE network is the largest environmental federation in the world. It has around 5,000 local branches, including those in Australia. Member groups at the national level are autonomous, leading to a great diversity within the network. FoE International is active on many of the key global environmental and social issues.

Please check here for our privacy policy.

Annual reports

If you need an annual report prior to these dates, please email cam.walker@foe.org.au for a copy.

Annual report for 2013/14, 2012/13, 2011/12, 2010/2011.


Funding and fund-raising

Each campaign sets its own goals and is ultimately responsible for fund-raising, and reports to strategy collective. The campaign planning is co-ordinated through bi annual whole of organisation planning meetings.

Friends of the Earth Melbourne is a Charitable Institution and is registered as having Deductible Gift Recipient status, meaning it can provide tax deductible receipts for donations over $2.

You can donate here.

Check our annual reports (above and below) for financial reports and details on our sources of income.


In recent years we have received financial support from the following businesses.


Via the environment grants program.



FoE staff and volunteers

Campaigns office

The office is open 10am til 6pm, Monday to Friday. 312 Smith St, Collingwood.

Ph: (03) 9419 8700  (outside Melbourne): 1300 852 081

Email: foe@foe.org.au


Membership development: Phil Evans phil.evans@foe.org.au

Finances: including our regular giving program: Tara Stevenson tara.stevenson@foe.org.au

Operations co-ordinator: Samantha Castro samantha.castro@foe.org.au (ext 02)

Campaigns co-ordinator/ media: Cam Walker - cam.walker@foe.org.au  0419 338 047


Climate campaigns:

Unconventional gas and climate: Cam Walker - cam.walker@foe.org.au

Quit Coal campaign: info@quitcoal.org.au

Coal and Gas Free Victoria: Ursula Alquier: csgfreepoowong@hotmail.com (Gippsland) and Chloe Aldenhoven: chloe.aldenhoven@foe.org.au (Western VIC) 0432 328 107

Renewable Energy campaign (yes 2 Renewables): Leigh Ewbank - leigh.ewbank@foe.org.au - 0406 316 176

River Country campaign: Covering inland rivers and waterways: Morgana Russell -  morgana.russell@foe.org.au

Latin American campaign issues: Marisol Salinas - marisol.salinas@foe.org.au

Anti Nuclear and Clean Energy Collective: Gem - ace@foe.org.au

Plantations/ Pesticides/ Water: Anthony Amis - ajamis50@gmail.com


Please note: the bookshop is no longer operating

Food co-operative
Co-ordinator: Beth Cameron - food@foe.org.au 03 9419 8700 (ext 05)

National staff based in Melbourne:

* national anti nuclear campaigner:
Jim Green - jim.green@foe.org.au

Our partners

We are the local member of Friends of the Earth Australia, which has membership in a range of alliances and organisations. You can find details on these here.

Locally we work closely with the following people and organisations:

On campaigns and community projects, our partners include-

*  Australian Conservation Foundation
* Australian Student Environment Network (ASEN)

* Beyond Zero Emissions
* City of Yarra, via the community grants program - especially for our street festival and the 'solutions to climate change' festival
* Environment Victoria
* Forest Action Trust

* Get Up!
* Melbourne Water Catchment Network
* Otway Ranges Environment Network
* photographer Peter McConchie
* photographer Rodney Dekker. http://www.rodneydekker.com/

* Public Transport not Traffic
* The Sustainable Living Foundation. We collaborate with SLF on a range of events, including the annual sustainability convergence, held each February
* The Wilderness Society
* Victorian National Parks Association
* Victorian Trades Hall Council and many individual unions.
* Yarra Environment Network
* Yorta Yorta Nation

We are a signatory to a Memorandum of Understanding with The Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations (MLDRIN).

Previous collaborations

Working with Carbon Equity, we established the Climate Action Centre in Carlton.

In 2010, FoE helped launch the Transition Decade (T10). T10is a non-partisan shared campaign which is coordinated by an alliance of groups. Groups guiding the campaign include: Friends of the Earth Australia, Beyond Zero Emissions, the Climate Emergency Network and the Sustainable Living Foundation. http://www.t10.net.au/

We act as the secretariat for the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance.

FoEM management

FoEM is an incorporated body in the state of Victoria. It is managed on a day-to-day basis by the strategy collective, which meets monthly and is composed of representatives of the campaigns and businesses.

A Committee of Management (CoM) - known as the Policy Advisory Committee or PAC - is appointed at the AGM and has oversight for long term planning, accountability and finances. All members of FoEM are welcome to stand for the CoM. The AGM is generally held in November.

The current CoM is:

Rob Lucas

Dave Robinson

Rodney Vlais

Cam Walker

Samantha Castro

Beth Cameron


Become an Active Friend Join the Creative Resistance Make Your Voice Heard